We make DemoGlow and it appears below. Facts come from vendors' own pages read on 8 September 2026 and from public review summaries captured on 25 August 2026, marked where used. Nothing was hands-on tested.
A feature demo tries to make someone want something. A tutorial tries to leave someone able to do something. The second job is harder to judge from a thumbnail, and it is the job this guide is about: step-by-step videos for existing users, the kind that live in a help center, an onboarding email or a YouTube channel. If you are choosing a tool to demonstrate a feature to prospects, the product demo video software guide is the right one.
“Tutorial” is the word people search for. In practice most of these videos are walkthroughs of one task in one product, and that narrower definition is what we compare against. Course platforms and lecture recorders are out of scope.
What makes a tutorial followable
Four things decide whether a viewer can do the task afterward. None of them show up on a pricing page.
The target is readable at the moment of action. When the cursor reaches a button, the viewer needs to see which button. Zooms, enlarged callouts and a visible cursor exist for this. A zoom that arrives after the click is worse than none.
The result stays on screen long enough to read. The most common cut mistake in automatic editing is trimming the pause after an action, which is the moment the viewer confirms they did it right. Whatever tool you pick, check that the edit holds on results.
The narration matches what is on screen. A reviewer in our research described automatic narration timing as “still rough” even when the zooms and voice were fine. Timing is a separate quality from voice quality, and the one people notice second.
Captions exist and can be exported. Help-center viewers watch muted, on phones, and often in a second language. Burned-in captions help; a separate SRT or VTT file lets you fix a word without re-rendering and lets a video host show its own captions.
We judged the tools below on those four, plus the correction workflow and what they do about distribution.
The correction workflow, for tutorials specifically
A tutorial goes stale one step at a time. A renamed menu item invalidates one sentence and one clip, and the question is whether you can replace that moment or must redo the take. On public pages, only Clueso and Trails state plainly that you can edit narration or clips without re-recording. Guidde and Supademo imply partial editing. The rest do not say. Test this during a trial with a real change before you commit; it is the difference between a library you maintain and one you abandon.
Captions and narration, tool by tool
| Tool | Narration | Languages stated | Caption export stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clueso | AI voices, script editable | 8 named plus “31 more” | Not stated |
| Trupeer | AI voiceover, avatars | 100+ (pricing page) or 120+ (homepage) | Captions burned into MP4 |
| Guidde | AI text-to-voice | 50+ (pricing page) or 200+ voices and languages (homepage) | “Edit and download captions,” format not stated |
| Trails | AI voiceover | Not stated; translation is Enterprise | Not stated |
| DemoSmith | AI voices, script generated | 29, with localized captions | Not stated |
| Screen Studio | Your microphone, no text-to-speech | n/a | Transcript as subtitles, format not stated |
| Loom | Your voice; AI voices “coming soon” | Transcripts in 50+ | Not stated |
| Scribe, Tango | No narration; document tools | Translation is Enterprise | n/a |
| Supademo | AI voices on interactive demos | Auto-translation in 15+ | Not stated |
| DemoGlow | AI narration from an editable script | Language list not published yet | SRT and VTT download, plus script as text |
Two review facts belong next to that table. Guidde’s G2 summaries carry a recurring complaint that some voices sound robotic with limited fine-tuning. A Trupeer reviewer working in Dutch reported too few Dutch voices and no suitable Flemish accent. Language counts on a pricing page do not tell you whether the voice for your language sounds right. Listen before you buy.
Distribution: what these tools do not do
This is where tutorial buyers get surprised. Making the video is half the work; getting it into the help center and keeping it there is the other half.
Guidde lists Zendesk, Freshdesk, Confluence, SharePoint, ServiceNow and YouTube integrations, the longest list here. Supademo embeds interactive demos in a help center. Trupeer adds SCORM export and a searchable knowledge base. Clueso shares by link or embed code. Loom hosts and shares. Everyone else, including DemoGlow, gives you files. DemoGlow exports MP4, SRT, VTT and the script; there is no YouTube publishing, no CMS or help-center integration and no hosted public page. You upload the video where you want it. If a native Zendesk or Confluence integration is a hard requirement, that narrows the list to Guidde quickly.
The tools, grouped
Prices per month from official pricing pages, 8 September 2026.
Production first: narration written and voiced for you
Clueso. Solo $40 billed yearly, Business $120 billed yearly, free plan with 10 export minutes a month. Video plus article, dozens of AI voices, correction from the editor stated. 20-minute input cap below Business. Reviewers push back on rendering speed.
Trupeer. Pro $40, Scale $199, credits at 100 per AI video minute and 50 per document, no rollover. Captions burned in, documentation in several formats, SCORM. Recording length capped at 10 minutes on Pro. Verify the annual prices; the page we read was internally inconsistent.
Trails. Creator $29 for 20 guides a month, Team $49. Video and screenshot guide, guide text edits flow into the video. Seven-day trial, no free plan.
DemoSmith. Starter $40 for 20 AI minutes. A browser agent drives your product from a URL. 29 languages. Correction workflow not stated.
DemoGlow. Solo $70, or $49 annually, for one editor and 15 finished minutes; Business $190, or $133 annually, for two editors and 30 pooled. Describe the task and the agent records it, or record it yourself in Chrome. Automatic edit with narration, zooms, cursor emphasis and captions; script, narration and visuals editable before export. One design decision is relevant to followability: an enlarged callout or highlight is shown for at least 1.5 seconds and the camera holds a settled position for at least 2 seconds before moving back, and an effect that cannot meet that minimum is dropped rather than shortened. That is a rule about our output, not evidence that it is better than anyone else’s, and we have not published comparisons. Limits: Chrome only, browser workflows only, no imports, 16:9, files only.
Recording first: your voice, presentable output
Screen Studio. $20 a month or $9 annually, macOS only. Automatic zooms and cursor smoothing, microphone and system audio, transcript to subtitles. If you narrate well and use a Mac, it is hard to beat on price. No document output, no correction of narration without re-recording that line yourself.
Loom. Business + AI $24 per user. Record, host, share, transcripts in 50+ languages, silence removal. A tutorial library on Loom is a library of takes, which is fine until the interface changes.
Document first: steps and screenshots
Guidde. Pro $29, or $19 annually; Business $59, or $39 annually. Video with AI voice plus a step document, the widest integration list, free viewers. See the Guidde alternatives guide for the complaints and the closest substitutes.
Scribe. Pro Personal $35, or $25 annually; Pro Team $17 per seat annually with a five-seat minimum. Screenshot guides, no narrated video. Now at scribe.com.
Tango. Pro $22, or $15 annually. Workflow guides with video embeds, Chrome and desktop capture. Now at tango.ai.
Interactive
Supademo (Scale $50, or $38 annually) and Arcade (Growth $50 per seat, or $42.50 annually) turn captured screens into clickable walkthroughs. For a help center, a clickable walkthrough can beat a video when the task is short and the customer would rather do than watch. It cannot be pasted into a YouTube channel or an email.
Cost for a small help library
The job: ten two-minute tutorials in the first month, then two updates a month. Roughly 20 finished minutes up front and 4 a month after.
| Tool | Plan | First month | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Screen Studio | Subscription | $20 | $20 |
| Guidde | Pro | $29 | $29 |
| Trails | Creator (20 guides) | $29 | $29 |
| Clueso | Solo, 3 h exports a year | $40 (yearly billing) | $40 |
| Trupeer | Pro, 100 credits per minute | $40 plus credits as needed | $40 |
| DemoGlow | Solo, 15 finished minutes | $70 plus a $40 production pack | $70 ($49 annual) |
DemoGlow’s first month is the most expensive row because 20 minutes exceeds Solo’s 15 and a $40 pack adds another 15. That is the honest arithmetic. What you get for it is the agent doing the recording and first edit and a per-project minute model where re-exporting a corrected version costs nothing if it is no longer than the last one. If you will record and narrate the ten videos yourself, Screen Studio or Guidde is a fraction of the price.
Choosing
Write down where the videos will live and who will fix them when the interface changes. If the answer is “the help center, and support will fix them,” weigh integrations and the correction workflow above everything else. If the answer is “YouTube and the founder,” weigh narration quality and how fast a first draft appears. Then run a trial on a real task and make one real correction. That single exercise will tell you more than this article can.
For demonstrating a new feature to people who have not bought yet, the criteria are different and the demo video software guide covers them.